Sweet 16 tweak

In the Sweet 16 item posted Wednesday, there was a minor error. Here’s the correct item:

3. Sixteen Cubs players have won BBWAA Awards: eight MVP Awards — Ernie Banks (1958, 1959), Phil Cavaretta (1945), Andre Dawson (1987) , Gabby Hartnett (1935), Ryne Sandberg (1984), Hank Sauer (1952), Sammy Sosa (1998); three Cy Young Awards — Ferguson Jenkins (1971), Greg Maddux (1992), Bruce Sutter (1979), Rick Sutcliffe (1984); and five Rookie of the Year Awards: Ken Hubbs (1962), Geovany Soto (2008), Jerome Walton (1989), Billy Williams (1961), Kerry Wood (1998).

Direct all questions to MLB.com’s Marty Noble, who did the research.

— Carrie Muskat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: