9/16 Official scorer

In case you were wondering, Cubs catcher Geovany Soto was charged with an error in the fourth inning Wednesday when he tried to pick up the ball with his mask, not his hand or glove. Here’s the rule:

Rule 7.05 Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance:
(j) One base, if a fielder deliberately touches a pitched ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play, and the award is made from the position of the runner at the time the ball was touched.

– Carrie Muskat

2 Comments

Soto seems to do this often – I vaguely recall watching an opposing team’s broadcast recently, and they mentioned him doing it and wondered how he gets away with it. I feel like I’ve even heard Brenly mention that not touching the ball with your equipment is hammered into you as a catcher… but with Soto, not so much, it would seem.

Soto seems to do this often – I vaguely recall watching an opposing team’s broadcast recently, and they mentioned him doing it and wondered how he gets away with it. I feel like I’ve even heard Brenly mention that not touching the ball with your equipment is hammered into you as a catcher… but with Soto, not so much, it would seem.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

%d bloggers like this: