11/7 Congrats to AA Smokies

Double-A Tennessee was named organization of the year in Minor League baseball by the National Association of Professional Baseball Leagues, headquartered in St. Petersburg, Fla. The Smokies are the 2011 recipient of the John H. Johnson President’s Award, given annually to the complete baseball franchise. The award is based on franchise stability, and significant contributions to the community, its league and the baseball industry.  This is the first such honor for Tennessee, who also becomes the first Southern League club to win the award since its inception in 1974. On the field, the Smokies won their third consecutive North Division championship.  At the gate, the team enjoyed its highest per-game average attendance (3,960) in club history. The Smokies will be honored at the Winter Meetings on Dec. 8.

— Carrie Muskat

1 Comment

good to see our farm system win an award!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: