8/29 AZ Fall League roster

Javier Baez, Matt Szczur and Rubi Silva are among the Cubs prospects who will play in the Arizona Fall League. Baez was the Cubs’ No. 1 pick in 2011. The trio will be joined on the Mesa Solar Sox by pitchers Dae-Eun Rhee, Nick Struck, Tony Zych, and Zach Rosscup. Kevin Rhoderick will be on the taxi squad.

The Arizona Fall League celebrates its 20th anniversary season in 2012. Opening Day is Oct. 9. The six-team league, owned and operated by MLB, plays six days per week (Monday-Saturday) in six Cactus League stadiums in the Phoenix area, including the Cubs’ facility in Mesa, Hohokam Stadium.

— Carrie Muskat

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: