1/8 More Greg Maddux trivia

Greg Maddux became the 51st former Cubs player, manager or executive to earn induction into the Hall of Fame on Wednesday. He will be formally enshrined in Cooperstown on July 27.

Maddux retired as the eighth winningest pitcher in the history of the game with 355 wins, 133 of which came during his 10 seasons with the Cubs. He won the first of his four career Cy Young Awards with the Cubs in 1992 when he went 20-11 with a 2.18 ERA in 35 starts.

* With Hank O’Day and Deacon White being elected to the HOF in 2013, this will be the first time since 1975-1976 that multiple Cubs will be inducted into the HOF in consecutive years. Tony La Russa played for the Cubs, and will be inducted into Cooperstown as a manager. The other multiple Cubs inducted include Billy Herman and Ralph Kiner in 1975, and Freddy Lindstrom and Robin Roberts in ’76.

* With Ron Santo being elected in 2012, at least one Cub has been elected to the HOF for three consecutive years.

* Maddux is the 21st Cubs elected to the HOF by the BBWAA and the first since Andre Dawson in 2010. LaRussa was the 29th Cub elected via “Committees” – either the Veteran’s Committee or a Committee considering managers, umpires, executives and long-retired players.

* Maddux is the 13th Cubs elected to the HOF as a pitcher; the first since Rich “Goose” Gossage in 2008 (who also was elected by the BBWAA).

(Thanks to baseball historian Ed Hartig for the information)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: