#Cubs Minor League report

Iowa finished the season 80-64, fifth most wins in the team’s Pacific Coast League history. Carlos Pimentel was named PCL Pitcher of the Year after going 12-6 with a 2.95 ERA and 118 strikeouts in 27 games. John Andreoli led the team with a .277 average.

Tennessee finished 76-63 with a winning record in each half. Willson Contreras won the Southern League batting title,
finishing at .333. Ryan Williams led the team with 10 wins.

Myrtle Beach had an off day Tuesday, and faces Winston-Salem Wednesday in the first game of a best of three Carolina League Southern Division championship series. Duane Underwood is scheduled to start.

South Bend finished with a 65-72 record, including a 36-34 mark in the second half. Gleyber Torres was named Midwest League Prospect of the Year after batting .293 with 24 doubles, five triples, three homers, 62 RBI, 53 runs scored and 22 stolen bases. Erick Leal went 10-8 with a 3.85 ERA to lead the team in wins and innings pitched.

Eugene finished the season 38-38 overall. Oscar De La Cruz was named to the Northwest League Year-End All-Star team along with infielder Frandy Delarosa.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: